Gintong Aklat Awards

Established in 1981, the Gintong Aklat Awards are given out every two years to outstanding publishers. Managed by the Book Development Association of the Philippines (BDAP), the awards are meant to recognize excellence in bookmaking.

The objective of the Awards is to recognize and encourage the production of quality books that are excellent in all aspects of bookmaking. Specific areas for recognition would include book production (printing, binding, etc.), content (writing and editing) and book design.

The contest has the following categories and trade books in these categories shall be entered:

1. Literature in Filipino-fiction, non-fiction, poetry, literary criticism and anthology
2. Literature in English- fiction, non-fiction, poetry, literary criticism and anthology
3. Arts and Humanities
4. Food- cookbooks, culinary history, food research
5. Natural Sciences
6. Social Sciences
7. Inspiration and Self-Help

Book entries shall be judged on the following criteria:

1. Quality of Production
2. Book Design
3. Content

This means an entry has to pass the first criterion before it can move on to the 2nd and 3rd levels.
An entry must pass production quality standards first before it can be assessed in terms of book design and content.

Entries to the Gintong Aklat Awards shall be judged not only on the outstanding merit
of their content but on the totality of the book as a physical book.

Gintong Aklat Awardees

Year 2000

Year 2002

Year 2004


Year 2006

Year 2008

Year 2010

Year 2012

Year 2014

Year 2016